top of page
Search

My first year showing at the EXCA World Finals.

Working with what we had, we rented a u-haul truck to haul our trailer. We didn't own a truck back then and the u-haul truck was only a two seater so we had to drive two cars. My Dad and I drove in our Ford Focus and my mom and brother drove in the truck hauling the horses. We made it to Texas and that November was freezing! While everyone unloaded and checked into the hotel or parked their LQs, we put up a tent! It felt like each night got colder. We often stood in the bathroom to escape the cold!. LOL But what I remember most is warming up Itzel in those arenas alongside the veterans of the sport like Lee Hart . I remember playing around in the grass and discovering how much bigger spiders are in Texas! I remember eating at the Crossfire Cafe all the time and picking up rocks out of the riverbank behind the property. Right before my run, my brother gave me the brilliant idea of doing our free ride and letting go of the reins. I remember asking if that would be considered "Showboating" but I don't remember his response.




I remember all the adults dressing up for the Halloween party and leaving out candy bowls in front of their stalls. I remember my mom's horse stepping on my foot with the weight of a 1000 men  My horse, Itzel, was so chill and knew what to do each day. He was a rental horse from the beaches of Mexico. My brother and I trained him to be a champion EXCA horse through trial and error. I had no idea what I was doing but Itzel always took care of me.

Despite all our adversities on that trip, the things I remember most have nothing to do with them. As this year comes to a close, I'm counting my blessings. The bad days don't seem so bad in retrospect and the good days outweigh them all.

My favorite 2022 memory was showing at the NQHA VRH show in Winnemucca. Jeremiah Daeseleer gave me my new favorite waxed cotton ranch rope, Lucia won us a Buckle, the hotel was haunted, and the snacks were cheaper than California prices.

What was your favorite 2022 memory?

7 views0 comments
bottom of page